Summer Instructor Profile: Travis

Travis hiking.JPG

Name:  Travis

Where did you grow up: Bucksport, Maine

Where do you live now: Portland ,Oregon

What is your favorite movie: Lord of the Rings Trilogy

What is your favorite book: Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver

Do you remember the first place you went hiking and how old were you:  As a young kid in Acadia National Park

What is your favorite outdoor recreation activity: Backpacking (and my fav part of backpacking is time at camp!)

What is the best trip you've ever been on:  A toss up between a 10-day canoe trip on the Allagash River in Maine or thru-hiking the Long Trail in Vermont.

Where is your favorite place to recreate: Baxter State Park in Maine

What is your absolute favorite piece of outdoor gear:  My backpacking hammock!

Waterbottle or Hydration Bladders (Camelbacks):  Die hard waterbottle user.

Down or synthetics sleeping bags:  I used to be only down, but I’ve changed my tune in recent years!

If you were stranded on a deserted island - what three items would you want:   Hammock with a bug net, a water filler that would never clog, and a banjo.

A place you dream of backpacking some day:  I need to get to the Wallow Range in Eastern Oregon!

What does it mean to you to recreate with other queer folks:  It means everything to me.  I feel safe and whole when I’m with people that really see me, and that gender is out the door and literally doesn’t matter.  Community where I get to really be myself, let my shoulders drop, and relax into connection.

Posted on May 7, 2018 .