Summer Instructor Profile: Tam

Mt Flume.jpg

Name:  Tam

Where did you grow up:  Winchester, Massachusetts

Where do you live now:  Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts

What is your favorite movie:  Harold and Maude


What is your favorite book:  Thru-Hiking Will Break Your Heart by Carrot Quinn 

Do you remember the first place you went hiking and how old were you:  I spent much of my youth wandering and meandering in the Middlesex Fells although I didn't consider it hiking at the time..that came much much later.  I was 30 when I started hiking in New Hampshire.  

What is your favorite outdoor recreation activity:  Backpacking

What is the best trip you've ever been on:  Thru-Hiking the Long Trail of Vermont Southbound 2016

Where is your favorite place to recreate:  The White Mountains, New Hampshire

What is your absolute favorite piece of outdoor gear:  My alcohol stove that Travis got me for my birthday!

Waterbottle or Hydration Bladders (Camelbacks):  I've never tried a bladder but if someone gave me one I'd try it but I don't think I can drink and walk at the same time so I'd probably stick with a waterbottle

Down or synthetics sleeping bags:  Synthetic

If you were stranded on a deserted island - what three items would you want:  A bottomless bag of sweet potatoes, a mandolin, and a journal

A place you dream of backpacking some day:  Switzerland 

What does it mean to you to recreate with other queer folks:  Recreating with queer folks means I can go by whatever name, pronoun or species I feel like on a given day without explanation. 

Posted on April 16, 2018 .