Summer Instructor Profile: Malcolm

unnamed.jpg

Name: Malcolm René Ribot

Where did you grow up: I was born in Maryland and then lived in Germany, Pennsylvania, Utah, Indiana, and Illinois throughout my youth and college.

Where do you live now: Nomadically

What is your favorite movie: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

What is your favorite book: Ragweed by Avi

Do you remember the first place you went hiking and how old were you: The earliest in my memory - I was 9 in Utah with my mom, her friend from work, and my brother. There was a waterfall and a dam we climbed around to a beautiful view for lunch.

What is your favorite outdoor recreation activity: Definitely hiking. Summits and those with waterfalls and swimming holes are my most favorite.

What is the best trip you've ever been on: All 50 states over 2.5 years. We have such an amazing country - the views, the nature, the humans, the food...Whale watching in Alaska, hiking the first peak of Olomana Three Peaks on Oahu, and summiting Quandary Peak in Colorado are a few of my favorite experiences from the trip.

Where is your favorite place to recreate: Up in the mountains and on the coast.

What is your absolute favorite piece of outdoor gear: My Camelbak Fourteener 20 Hydration Hiking Backpack. 

Waterbottle or Hydration Bladders (Camelbacks): Camelbaks - I love hiking with my hands free.

Down or synthetic sleeping bags: Synthetics

If you were stranded on a deserted island - what three items would you want: Survival knife/multi-tool, water filter, and a waterproof book on how to survive on a deserted island. :P

A place you dream of backpacking some day: New Zealand and Kaua'i

What does it mean to you to recreate with other queer folks: Peace and freedom - to be with others who relate while doing what we love in nature together - free to just be.

 

Posted on May 7, 2018 .